Dr. Chris Ellison to Become 103rd ACS President

E. Christopher Ellison, MD, FACS, MAMSE, will be installed tonight during Convocation as the 2022-2023 ACS President. He succeeds Julie A. Freischlag, MD, FACS, FRCSEd(Hon), DFSVS.

E. Christopher Ellison, MD, FACS, MAMSE

The ceremony will be livestreamed so that the worldwide virtual audience may experience the celebration in real time. It also will be available on-demand within 1 hour of its conclusion.  

A record 2,355 initiates from 77 countries will be inducted, and the classes of 2020 and 2021 also will be recognized because their respective ceremonies had to be held online during the pandemic.

“It is a great honor to be in a position to address the initiates,” Dr. Ellison said. “To be welcomed into the ACS is a major milestone for any surgeon. We look forward to celebrating each of them, and the future of surgery itself.”

Dr. Ellison is the Robert M. Zollinger Professor of Surgery Emeritus at The Ohio State University (OSU) College of Medicine (COM), in Columbus, OH. He recently completed a 2-year term as the George W. Paulson, MD, Medical Heritage Center Scholar-in-Residence.

Following the installation of the new Officers, including Dr. Ellison, Mary E. Fallat, MD, FACS, as First Vice-President, and Anne G. Rizzo, MD, FACS, as Second Vice-President, he will deliver his Presidential Address and promote his theme of Surgeons United.

Anne G. Rizzo, MD, FACS
Mary E. Fallat, MD, FACS

“The challenges we have faced during the COVID-19 pandemic, more than ever, demonstrated that we are much better when we work together rather than apart,” said Dr. Ellison. “The idea of Surgeons United is essential.”

Over the next year, Dr. Ellison plans to focus on enhancing ACS’s relevance within all surgical specialties, eliminating disparities in surgery, and solving the shortage of rural surgeons. He said that the addition of more than 2,300 initiates will play a crucial role in addressing these goals.

Several significant awards also will be presented during Convocation. This year’s Distinguished Service Award, the highest individual honor granted by the College, will be given to Mark A. Malangoni, MD, FACS. The Dr. Mary Edwards Walker Inspiring Women in Surgery Award will be presented to Ernestine Hambrick, MD, FACS, and the Scientific Forum Award will be presented to Henri R. Ford, MD, FACS.

In addition, initiates from the classes of 1972 and 1997 will be recognized, and Honorary Fellowships will be bestowed on 12 individuals:

  • Mohammad M. Al-Qattan, MD, a plastic surgeon from Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
  • Ines Buccimazza, MBChB, FACS, FCS(SA), a general/breast surgeon from Durban, South Africa
  • Reinhold Ganz, MD, an orthopaedic surgeon from Gümilgen, Switzerland
  • Marco Montorsi, MD, a general surgeon from Milan, Italy
  • Graham L. Newstead, MBBS, FACS, FRACS, FRCS, a colorectal surgeon from Randwick, Australia
  • Fernando Rodriguez Montalvo, MD, PhD, FACS, a general/hepato-biliary-pancreatic surgeon from Caracas, Venezuela
  • Paulina Salminen, MD, PhD, a general and digestive disease surgeon from Turku, Finland
  • Samuel Shuchleib Chaba, MD, FACS, a general and Endoscopic Surgeon from Mexico City, Mexico
  • Antonio Jose Torres, MD, PhD, FACS, a cardiothoracic surgeon from Madrid, Spain
  • Petr Tsarkov, MD, PhD, FASCRS(Hon), a colorectal surgeon from Moscow, Russia
  • Laura G. Viani, BA, BCh, BAO, DMMD, MSc, FRCSI, an otolaryngologist from Dublin, Ireland
  • Peter-John Wormald, MD, FAHMS, FRACS, FCS(SA), FRCS(Ed), MBChB, an otolaryngologist from North Adelaide, Australia

A reception to celebrate the initiates, awardees, and new officers will be held following Convocation in the Sails Pavilion of the Convention Center.

Watch Clinical Congress Sessions On Demand

Virtual registration is still an option for Clinical Congress 2022. An on-demand library of recorded sessions from San Diego is available until May 1, 2023.