Symposium of ACS Academy of Master Surgeon Educators highlights impact of pandemic on surgical training

The 2020 Symposium of the American College of Surgeons (ACS) Academy of Master Surgeon Educators will take place Monday, October 5, from 12:00 noon to 1:00 pm CDT at the virtual Clinical Congress. The title of the symposium is Transformation of Residency Training in Surgery: COVID-19 Pandemic and Beyond. Co-moderators will be L.D. Britt, MD, MPH, DSc(Hon), FACS, FCCM, FRCSEng(Hon), FRCSEd(Hon), FWACS(Hon), FRCSl(Hon), FCS(SA)(Hon), FRCS(Glasg)(Hon), and Ajit K. Sachdeva, MD, FACS, FRCSC, FSACME. Presenters will include Academy Members E. Christopher Ellison, MD, FACS; Mohsen M. Shabahang, MD, PhD, FACS; and Anton N. Sidawy, MD, MPH, FACS (ACS Regent).

This symposium will focus on the recent activities of the Academy relating to the impact of COVID-19 on surgical training. The symposium will be open to all Clinical Congress registrants, and all are encouraged to attend, participate in the discussion, and share new ideas.

Mission statement of the ACS Academy of Master Surgeon Educators

Developed by the ACS Division of Education, the mission of the Academy of Master Surgeon Educators is to play a leadership role in advancing the science and practice of education across all surgical specialties, promoting the highest achievements in the lifetimes of surgeons.

This mission will be achieved as follows:

  • Establishing an Academy based on standards and criteria
  • Charging the Academy to identify and recruit innovators and thought leaders committed to surgical education and training
  • Translating innovation into action

Steering Committee of the ACS Academy of Master Surgeon Educators


  • D. Britt, MD, MPH, DSc(Hon), FACS, FCCM, FRCSEng(Hon), FRCSEd(Hon), FWACS(Hon), FRCSl(Hon), FCS(SA)(Hon), FRCS(Glasg)(Hon)
  • Ajit K. Sachdeva, MD, FACS, FRCSC, FSACME


  • Sir Murray F. Brennan, GNZM, MD, FACS Haile T. Debas, MD, FACS, FRCSC
  • David B. Hoyt, MD, FACS
  • Scott Levin, MD, FACS
  • Leigh A. Neumayer, MD, MS, FACS
  • Carlos A. Pellegrini, MD, FACS, FRCSl(Hon), FRCS(Hon), FRCSEd(Hon), FWACS(Hon)


  • Patrice Gabler Blair, MPH

ACS Staff

  • Alisa Nagler, JD, MA, EdD
  • Susan Newman, MPH
  • Linda K. Lupi, MBA
  • Rachel Williams Newman, MS

2020 inductees of the ACS Academy of Master Surgeon Educators

The Academy congratulates the following individuals inducted into the Academy at the virtual Induction Ceremony on Friday, September 25.


  • Anthony Atala, MD, FACS
  • Abdalla Yunis Bashir, MBBCh, MD, FACS, FRCSEd
  • Chintamani, MS, FACS, FRCS(Ed), FRCS(Glas), FRCS(Eng), FRCS(lrel), FICS(SurgOncol)
  • Lord Ara W. Darzi, OM, KBE, PC, FRS, FACS(Hon), FMedSci, FREng(Hon), loM*
  • Christopher Ellison, MD, FACS
  • Alberto Raul Ferreres, MD, PhD, FACS(Hon)**
  • Abe Fingerhut MD, FACS(Hon), FRCPS(g), FRCSEd(Hon), FASCRS(Hon)**
  • Arun K. Gosain, MD, FAAP, FACS
  • Sean Christopher Grondin, MD, MPH, FACS, FRCSC**
  • Graham T. Layer, MA (Oxf), OM, MCh (Oxf), FACS, FRCSEng, FRCSEd, FAIS(Hon), FFSTEd**
  • Mark A. Malangoni, MD, FACS**
  • Jeffrey Banks Matthews, MD, FACS
  • Ernest E. Moore, MD, FACS, MCCM, FACN, FISS, FACEP(Hon), FRCSEd(Hon), FRCST(Hon), FRCSl(Hon), FEBS Em Surg(Hon)
  • Gerardo E. Munoz-Maldonado, MD, PhD, FACS
  • Linda M. Reilly, MD, FACS
  • Jatin P. Shah MD, PhD(Hon), DSc(Hon), FACS, FRCS(Hon), FDSRCS(Hon), FRCSl(Hon), FRACS(Hon), FRCSDS(Hon)
  • Richard J. Shemin, MD, FACS
  • Carl H. Snyderman, MD, MBA, FACS
  • Julie Ann Sosa, MD, MA, FACS
  • Lawrence W. Way, MD, FACS
  • Douglas E. Wood, MD, FACS, FRCSEd
  • Stephen C. Yang, MD, FACS

Associate Members

  • Sherif R.Z. Abdel-Misih, MD, FACS
  • Michael M. Awad, MD, PhD, FACS
  • Sandra J. Beck, MD, FACS, FASCRS
  • Karl Bilimoria, MD, MS, FACS
  • Jennifer N. Choi, MD, FACS
  • David Tom Cooke, MD, FACS
  • Karen A. Diefenbach, MD, FACS
  • Peter J. DiPasco, MD, FACS
  • John F. Eidt, MD, FACS*
  • Eric A. Elster, MD, FACS
  • Jeffrey M. Farma, MD, FACS
  • Charles M. Friel, MD, FACS**
  • Jonathan Dean Gates, MD, MBA, FACS**
  • Kimberly M. Hendershot, MD, FACS
  • Juliet Lee, MD, MA, FACS
  • Stephen Macleod, BOS, MBChB, FACS, FDS RCS(ED & ENG), FRCS(ED), FFST RCS(ED)
  • Marian P. McDonald MD, MEd, FACS
  • lakovos N. Nomikos, MD, PhD, FACS
  • Jitesh A. Patel, MD, FACS, FASCRS
  • Kari Michelle Rosenkranz, MD, FACS
  • Alan A. Saber, MD, MS, FACS, FASMBS
  • Elizabeth Santos, MD, PhD, FACS, ECBC
  • Babak Sarani, MD, FACS, FCCM
  • Brigitte K. Smith, MD, MHPE, FACS, FSVS
  • Philip W. Smith, MD, FACS
  • Georgios Tsoulfas, MD, PhD, FACS**
  • Khashayar Vaziri, MD, FACS
  • Peter Steven Yoo, MD, FACS

*Selected in 2018
**Selected in 2019