Tune in for the ACS Convocation tonight

Clinical Congress attendees are encouraged to view the virtual Convocation tonight, October 24, 6:00 pm−8:00 pm Central Time. During the ceremony, the American College of Surgeons (ACS) will confer Fellowship upon those surgeons who have successfully met ACS requirements to provide optimal care to the surgical patient. The 2020-2021 ACS President, J. Wayne Meredith, MD, FACS, MCCM, will serve as the Presiding Officer.

The first Convocation ceremony took place November 13, 1913, at the Congress Hotel in Chicago, IL. The inaugural class of 1,059 surgeons hailed from the U.S. and Canada and included six female surgeons. The 2021 class, the largest ever, includes more than 2,300 Initiates from the U.S., Canada, and around the globe.

The Convocation also includes recognition of the College’s new Honorary Fellows, presentation of the ACS Distinguished Service Award and other honors, the installation of the ACS Officers, and the Presidential Address by our 102nd President, Julie A. Freischlag, MD, FACS, FRCSEd(Hon), DFSVS, chief executive officer of Wake Forest Baptist Health, dean of Wake Forest School of Medicine, and chief academic officer of Atrium Health Enterprise, Winston-Salem, NC.

Following is the agenda for the program:


National Anthems of Canada and the U.S.



Faizul R. Khan, Imam for the Islamic Society of Washington Area

Presentation of Initiates

L. Scott Levin, MD, FACS, Chair, ACS Board of Regents

Fellowship Pledge

Tyler G. Hughes, MD, FACS, ACS Secretary

Conferral of Fellowship on the 2021 Class of Initiates

Led by Dr. Meredith

Response on Behalf of New Fellows

Raphael Chunping Sun, MD, 2020-2021 Chair, Resident and Associate Society of the American College of Surgeons

Recognition of the 50-Year and 25-Year Initiate Classes

Led by Dr. Meredith

Moment of Silence Recognizing Fellows Who Have Died in 2020 and 2021

Led by Dr. Meredith

Presentation of the Distinguished Service Award by the President of the College

Recipient: David P. Winchester, MD, FACS, Past-Director ACS Cancer Programs

Granting of Honorary Fellowships by the President of the College

  • Christiane Josephine Bruns, MD, Cologne, Germany
    • Sponsored by: ACS Regent Fabrizio Michelassi, MD, FACS, New York, NY
  • Luis M. Chiva, MD, PhD, Madrid, Spain
    • Sponsored by: ACS Regent Enrique Hernandez, MD, FACS, FACOG, Philadelphia, PA
  • Dan M. Fliss, MD, Tel Aviv, Israel
    • Sponsored by: Dennis H. Kraus, MD, FACS | New York, NY
  • Chuan-Gang Fu, MD, PhD, Shanghai, The Peoples Republic of China
    • Sponsored by: Conor Delaney, MD, MCh, PhD, FACS, FRCSI, FASCRS, FRSI(Hon), Cleveland, OH
  • Sir Selwyn Michael Griffin, MB BS, FRCSEng, MD, FCSHK, FRCSEd, OBE, FRCSGlasg(Hon), FRCSI(Hon), FCSSriLanka(Hon), FASI(Hon), FRACS(Hon), Edinburgh, Scotland
    • Sponsored by: ACS Past-President Ronald V. Maier, MD, FACS
  • Mousa A. R. Khoursheed, MD, FACS, FRCSGlasg, Safat, Kuwait
    • Sponsored by: Vice-Chair, ACS Board of Regents, Steven D. Wexner, MD, PhD(Hon), FACS, FRCSEng, FRCSEd, FRCSI(Hon), FRCSGlasg(Hon)
  • Luke P. H. Leenen, MD, PhD, FACS, FEBS(EmSurg)(Hon), Utrecht, Kingdom of the Netherlands
    • Sponsored by: Dr. Maier
  • Michael Ka Wah Li, BBS, MB BS(London), MRCS, LRCP, FRCSEd, FRCSEng, FCSHK, FHKAM(Surgery), Hong Kong, The Peoples Republic of China
    • Sponsored by: Dr. Wexner
  • Guy John Maddern, MB BS, PhD, MS, MD, FACS, FRACS, FAAHMS, Woodville, Australia
    • Sponsored by: ACS Regent Steven C. Stain, MD, FACS, Boston, MA
  • Oscar Traynor, MB BCh, BAO(Honors), MCh, FRSCI, FRCSGlasg(Hon), Dublin, Ireland
    • Sponsored by: Hilary A. Sanfey, MB BCh, MHPE, FACS, FRCSEd(Hon), FRCSI(Hon), Springfield, IL

Presentation of the Scientific Forum Award by the President of the College

Recipient: Stanley Waite Ashley, MD, FACS, the Frank Sawyer Professor of Surgery and chief medical officer and senior vice-president for medical affairs, Brigham & Women’s Hospital, Boston, MA. He has served as program director for general surgery residency, chief of surgery, and vice-chairman, department of surgery, Harvard Medical School.

Presentation of the ACS Women in Surgery Committee Dr. Mary Edwards Walker Inspiring Women in Surgery Award by the President of the College

Recipient: M. Margaret Knudson, MD, FACS, Medical Director, Military Heath Services Surgical Partnership-American College of Surgeons; professor of surgery, University of California San Francisco; adjunct professor Uniformed Services University, Bethesda, MD

Presentation of the RAS-ACS Outstanding Mentor of the Year Award by Dr. Meredith

Recipient: Matthew D. Neal, MD, FACS, Roberta G. Simmons Associate Professor of Surgery, University of Pittsburgh School of Medicine, and director, Pittsburgh Trauma Research Center, PA

Presentation of the Lifetime Achievement Award by Dr. Meredith

Recipient: L.D. Britt, MD, MPH, DSc(Hon), FACS, FCCM, FRCSEng(Hon), FRCSEd(Hon), FWACS(Hon), FRCSI(Hon), FCS(SA)(Hon), FRCSGlasg(Hon), Henry Ford Professor and Edward J. Brickhouse Chairman, department of surgery, Eastern Virginia Medical School, Norfolk, VA

Presentation of the Distinguished Lifetime Military Contribution Award by Dr. Meredith

Recipient: Lieutenant General (Retired) Paul Kendall Carlton, Jr., MD, FACS

Recognition of the Academy of Master Surgeon Educatorsby Dr. Meredith

The ACS Academy of Master Surgeon Educators aims to recognize preeminent surgeon educators from across the House of Surgery and engage them in innovative programs of the Academy. Names of members of the Academy were published in the Convocation Program Book. On Friday, October 15, the 2021 cohort of Members, Associate Members, and Affiliate Members were inducted at a special ceremony. The inductees included a record number of individuals from various surgical specialties and from across the globe.

Leadership of the Academy is as follows:

  • L. D. Britt, MD, MPH, DSc(Hon), FACS, FCCM, FRCSEng(Hon), FRCSEd(Hon), FWACS(Hon), FRCSI(Hon), FCS(SA)(Hon), FRCS(Glasg)(Hon), MAMSE
  • Ajit K. Sachdeva, MD, FACS, FRCSC, FSACME, MAMSE
  • Sir Murray Brennan, GNZM, MD, FACS, MAMSE
  • Haile T. Debas, MD, FACS, FRCSC, MAMSE
  • David B. Hoyt, MD, FACS, MAMSE
  • L. Scott Levin, MD, FACS, MAMSE
  • Leigh A. Neumayer, MD, MS, MBA, FACS, MAMSE
  • Carlos A. Pellegrini, MD, FACS, FRCSI(Hon), FRCS(Hon), FRCSEd(Hon), FWACS(Hon), MAMSE
  • Anton Nicholas Sidawy, MD, MPH, FACS, MAMSE

Installation of Officers, 2021–2022

  • As Second Vice-President: Richard A. Lynn, MD, FACS, RPVI, a private practice general surgeon in Palm Beach, FL
  • As First Vice-President: Quan-Yang Duh, MD, FACS, professor of surgery, division of general surgery, and chief, section of endocrine surgery, University of California San Francisco
  • As President: Dr. Freischlag

Presidential Address: #SurgeonsSowingHope

Dr. Freischlag, MD, FACS, FRCSEd(Hon)

Closing Remarks




Congratulations to the 2021 Initiates

The Board of Regents of the American College of Surgeons is honored to confer Fellowship on the 2021 Initiate Class and welcomes them to the American College of Surgeons. Congratulations to all!

Family and friends are welcome to watch virtually! Convocation will be accessible to all. No registration is required.